The Love of Learning

A life of mediocrity awaits those who don’t have a love of learning.

Felipe Angelucci
2 min readAug 22, 2024

--

A picture of a sign that says “love to learn”.
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Learning is made boring and unenjoyable as soon as people begin their journey in primary education.

However, its true form is neither boring nor unenjoyable.

Real learning isn’t stressful and graded. Life teaches people through mistakes that become learning opportunities when they don’t give up and keep learning new things from each mistake they make.

I used to hate learning ever since primary school; that didn’t change in high school. I hated learning in formal education. By the time I graduated high school, I regained my love for learning.

I went from being able to spend my time learning for at most thirty minutes to spending six hours in a row just learning by reading books, watching courses about blockchain, and learning programming languages like JavaScript by reading tutorials and writing my own code.

I believe this love for learning will be essential for when university begins and I need to learn five days a week and study daily to stay on top of assignments and tests.

This time I’ll enjoy the process instead of dreading it and only learning or studying because I’m forced to be in a room every day from 7 AM to 2 PM like I was in high school.

It never made sense to me why I had to waste away seven hours of my day in high school just waiting for the bell to go off so I could go home.

Barely any of my classes taught me things I wanted to learn and needed to learn in order to go out into the real world.

Here’s to a new chapter of learning at university.

--

--

Felipe Angelucci

I write about what's on my mind. The topics I mainly write about are business, investing, entrepreneurship, productivity, and self-improvement.